Singapore Tuition Agency

6538. Cheong Sue-ann Faith

Previous Tutor «  Random  » Next Tutor

Teaching level and subjects


Ratings Breakdown (Find out how ratings are given)

(Top 7%)
Gender Female
Age 31 to 40
Date Joined Dec 2007
Occupation Fulltime Tutor
Teaching at NE,S,W,C
Tanjong Pagar
Telok Blangah
Pasir Panjang
Kent Ridge
Bt Merah
Tiong Bahru
Clarke Quay
Hill Street
Scotts Rd
Orchard Rd
River Valley
Toa Payoh
Thomson Rd
2009 Music (The Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music)
Diploma of the Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music (Music Performance - Piano)
2005 Music (The Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music)
Grade 8 Theory of Music
2003 Music (The Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music)
Grade 8 Piano (Merit)

Other Qualifications

O Level (Dunman High School), English (A2), Chinese (C5), E Maths (A1), A Maths (B3), Chemistry (A1), Physics (A2), Geography (B3), Literature (B3)

DipABRSM in Music Performance, Piano, 2009.

Grade 8 ABRSM piano, 2003.

Grade 8 ABRSM Theory, 2005.


I have been teaching all grade levels of piano performance and music theory for 8 years. All my students who have taken exams under my tutelage have passed thus far.

I believe in being highly adaptable as a teacher, and that each student is unique and special. For a student aiming to take music exams, I stress on building good basic technique and some general musical knowledge, in addition to the standard components of the exam (i.e. scales, aural skills, sight-reading, and recital). I believe in being extremely patient and encouraging, and allowing leeway for the student's own development. However, while I am absolutely willing to teach a slow learner, I also believe that the student must meet me halfway and put in some effort of his own.

I also enjoy teaching beginners who want to learn to play the piano for leisure. In this case I usually believe a perfect technique is less important than the enjoyment of music and the ability to read music, and focus my teaching on these areas. Some theoretical knowledge is however necessary as well and I will provide instruction to the end of enabling the learner to understand the basics of music theory, or more if more knowledge is desired. I like to enrich lessons by allowing the learner to listen to recordings of music, if he shows interest. While I generally discourage cancellation of lessons, I am willing to be flexible especially in the case of adult learners due to their busy work schedules.

Commitment Level

I like to say that I will be teaching music for the rest of my life, but I'm really half-joking, since one can never truly know what the future holds. However, my love for music is true, and I expect I will continue to try to improve my own musical ability as well as my teaching ability. I love to teach--imparting what I know and have learned is a great joy for me that I look forward to at every lesson, and I hope that my students have a similar passion for learning.

I am currently able to start any time.

Assignments (6 Taken)

Home Tuition

# Date Area District Level Subjects Sessions Per Month
1 22 Jan 08 - Katong, Joo Chiat M3 Piano 4 x 0.75hrs
2 20 Feb 08 C Tanglin, River Valley M1 Piano 4 x 1hrs
3 20 Jun 08 C Tanglin, River Valley M0 Piano 4 x 1hrs
4 01 Jul 09 S Harbourfront, Telok Blangah M0 Piano 4 x 1hrs
5 19 Apr 11 NE Ang Mo Kio M7 Piano 4 x 1hrs
6 16 Jun 13 C Orchard Rd M0 Piano 4 x 1.5hrs