Singapore Tuition Agency

34756. Tan Kar Woon

Previous Tutor «  Random  » Next Tutor

Teaching level and subjects

Primary/ PSLE
Maths, Science
Secondary/ O level
Maths, E Maths, A Maths, Physics, Chemistry, Physics/Chem
Junior College/ A level
Maths, Physics, Chemistry

Ratings Breakdown (Find out how ratings are given)

(Top 13%)
Gender Male
Age 26 to 30
Date Joined Oct 2015
Occupation Part-time Tutor
Teaching at N,NE,C
Scotts Rd
Orchard Rd
Toa Payoh
Yio Chu Kang
Ang Mo Kio
Thomson Rd
Neo Tiew
Sungei Kadut
Nee Soon
2012 Transcript (National University of Singapore)
2012 Transcript (National University of Singapore)
2012 Bachelor (National University of Singapore)
Bachelor of Science with Honours in Chemistry
2009 GCE A (National Junior College)
Project Work (B)
2009 GCE A (National Junior College)
General Paper (C), Economics (C), Mathematics (A), Physics (A), Chemistry (A), Pharmaceutical Chemistry (Pass)
2009 Testimonial (National Junior College)
2009 Transcript (National Junior College)
2009 Transcript (National Junior College)
2008 Others (National Junior College)
Certificate of Attendance for 4-hour course: Chemistry - Essential Science for Life
2008 Others (National Junior College)
Certificate of Award - Silver Medal (20th Singapore Chemistry Olympiad)
2007 GCE O (Catholic High School)
English Language (B4), Combined Humanities (A1), Geography (A1), Mathematics (A1), Additional Mathematics (A1), Physics (A2), Chemistry (A1), Higher Chinese Language (B3)
2006 Others (Catholic High School)
Bronze Award - 2006 Inter-Class Statistical Poster Competition
2006 Others (Catholic High School)
Certificate of High Distinction
2006 Others (Catholic High School)
Certificate of Merit
2004 Others (Catholic High School)
Certificate of Credit

Other Qualifications

I am currently studying in NUS school of science, majoring in chemistry


I am chemistry graduate from National University of Singapore. I have a Bachelor of Science with honours in chemistry with specialization in medicinal chemistry. I have 3 years experience in being a tutor, moreover I also have experience as being a trainer for chemistry olympiad. I believe that being a tutor primarily requires patience followed by professionalism. I structure the lesson base on the absorption rate of the students, allowing those slower paced student to be able to absorb the subject matter in a bite size, preventing the cramping of large amount of information into the student mind in a short period of time. For For those student with a stronger conceptual understanding, I would try to focus in the links between different topics, allowing the student to appreciate the intricacy of the subject by seeing the links. This would help to increase the student interest in the subject matter apart from the emphasis on the grades of the subject. I generally plan my lesson prior to the lesson, and would try to package my lesson in an interesting manner such that it would be able to capture the tutee's attention.

Commitment Level

I can start asap and will be able to do so until this end of this year.

Assignments (2 Taken)

Home Tuition

# Date Area District Level Subjects Sessions Per Month
1 08 Mar 18 N Sembawang A1 Maths, Chemistry 4 x 2hrs
2 19 Feb 19 NE Sengkang, Buangkok A1 Maths, Chemistry 4 x 3hrs