Singapore Tuition Agency

33695. Sarah

Previous Tutor «  Random  » Next Tutor

Teaching level and subjects

Secondary/ O level
Chemistry, Biology, History, Bio/Chem, Social Studies
Junior College/ A level
General Paper, Chemistry, Biology, History

Ratings Breakdown (Find out how ratings are given)

(Top 71%)
Gender Female
Age 21 to 25
Date Joined Dec 2014
Occupation post A level student
Teaching at E
Paya Lebar
Geylang Serai
Chai Chee
Bedok Reservoir
Pasir Ris

Other Qualifications

The tutor has declined to show her qualification. Please contact us for it or read the FAQ about this.


Though I have not had any formal teaching experience, being a recent graduate from RJC, I have had experience tutoring primary and secondary school children as a long term weekly volunteer at Chen Su Lan Methodist Home (2013-14) and Beyond Social Services (2010). I will likely also be taking up a relief teaching stint at RGS, my alma mater, next year.
While I am strong in both the sciences and the humanities, I believe there is a niche for humanities tutors (besides Economics). As such I would preferably teach History, Social Studies or General Paper. Nonetheless I can concurrently offer tuition in the sciences like Biology and Chemistry.

For humanities subjects, I believe in imparting (1) the right skill sets necessary for tackling any question given while memorising essays may have gotten you through secondary school, you will find that they will not work in the A levels for subjects as History. What is important is to master the basic content and study by an arguments-based approach that will enable to twist your content to fit any question. I believe that it is only through this method that (2) I can help cultivate a true interest for the subject, and hopefully make writing essays much less daunting. Of course, even humanities subjects require lots of essay writing practice.

For science subjects, (1) much more practice is needed to familiarise yourself with different types of questions, but fundamentally it still boils down to (2) your foundational conce

Commitment Level

- Able to start from third week of December
- Prefer weekday nights, Saturdays, or Sunday afternoons/nights since I may be working part time on weekdays and have church on Sunday mornings
- Will be away for a trip in the first three weeks of June 2015
- Able to commit regularly till university term starts in August/September 2015 - but may still be able to continue thereafter if conditions are favourable