Singapore Tuition Agency

22108. Tan Jin Yu

Previous Tutor «  Random  » Next Tutor

Teaching level and subjects

Primary/ PSLE
English, Maths, Science
Secondary/ O level
E Maths, A Maths, Science

Ratings Breakdown (Find out how ratings are given)

(Top 16%)
Gender Male
Age 31 to 40
Date Joined Sep 2010
Teaching at
Bt Panjang
Choa Chu Kang
Yew Tee
2008 GCE A (Hwa Chong Institution)
H1 General Paper (B), H2 Economics (A), H2 Mathematics (A), H2 Chemistry (A), H2 Biology (A), H3 Pharmaceutical Chemistry (Distinction)


I am a patient tutor who will never get annoyed or frustrated, especially if many repetitions are needed to drive a point/concept across. However, my strongest area lies in that I was a tutee once, having received Maths tuition myself in secondary school. I struggled with the subject in primary school and sec1, until my tutor made me realize how easy Maths is. Ever since then, I have always been scoring the highest grade for any subsequent major exams. As such, I know what is required to be an excellent tutor and the connections needs to be established between him/her and the tutee

I have 2-3 years of tutoring experience but most of it is restricted to conducting frequent peer tutoring sessions in secondary school and junior college, during which I guide fellow peers who encounter difficulties with Maths. I also aided my cousin in Maths during his secondary and poly school days. Most of my tutees who were originally unable to pass Maths (e.g U or S grade in JC) saw a gradual but consistent improvement in their grades (D, C/B and finally an A in their A levels).

Commitment Level

I will be able to commit for a period of 5 months (till April 2011), and will be available on week nights and anytime on weekends. In addition, I will be more than happy to conduct extra lessons if exams are drawing near.