Singapore Tuition Agency

19298. Le Vu Thuy Lien
(Busy: Not taking assignments)

Previous Tutor «  Random  » Next Tutor
 

Teaching level and subjects

Secondary/ O level
Maths, E Maths, A Maths, Physics, Chemistry, Science, Physics/Chem

Ratings Breakdown (Find out how ratings are given)

6
+
21
+
=
27
Unranked
Gender Female
Age 31 to 40
Date Joined Jan 2010
Occupation Part-time Tutor
Teaching at W
Pasir Panjang
Kent Ridge
Clementi
Dover
Buona Vista
Queenstown
Commonwealth
Holland
Ghim Moh
 
 
2007 GCE A (National Junior College)
H1 General Paper (A), H1 Economics (A), H2 Mathematics (A), H2 Physics (A), H2 Chemistry (A), H3 Science Research (Merit)
2006 Others (National Junior College)
American Mathematics Contests (Certificate of Distinction)
2005 GCE O (Singapore Chinese Girls' School)
English Language (A1), Geography (A1), Mathematics (A1), Additional Mathematics (A1), Physics (A1), Chemistry (A1)
2005 Others (Singapore Chinese Girls' School)
Special Awards
2005 Others (Singapore Chinese Girls' School)
Australian Mathematics Competition, Prudence Award - for achieving the school's highest number of consecutive correct answers
2005 Others (Singapore Chinese Girls' School)
Singapore Mathematical Olympiads (Open Section) (Bronze Award)
2004 Others (Singapore Chinese Girls' School)
Singapore Mathematical Olympiads (Senior Section) (Bronze Award)

Other Qualifications

I have graduated from the NUS Business School with Honours.

After Junior College, I received 3 scholarship offers ASEAN undergraduate scholarship, NUS Business Dean's Scholarship and the Singapore Exchange Scholarship. I am now taking the Singapore Exchange Scholarship.

In 2004 and 2005, I received Singapore Chinese Girls' School Special Awards for Top Student in the level, Top level in A Math, Top level in E Math, Top level in Physics and Top level in Chemistry.

Experience/Remarks

I have 10 years experience in teaching secondary 3 and 4 in various subjects such as E Math, A Math, Physics and Chemistry. After giving tuition to a sec 4 girl a few months before her preliminary exams, her Chemistry and Mathematics grades improved from D7 to A2.

I have also taught English and Science to a secondary 1 girl for a year. She became a top student in Science in her school's final exams that year.

I have been a cluster mentor in the NUS High School of Math and Science for 4 years. I have worked closely with students from different backgrounds, with different needs and from different age groups. I can work and live comfortably with them. Thus, I am able to approach students with different attitudes towards learning.

While tutoring, I strongly believe in understanding and practising. Thus, I always make sure that my students thoroughly understand the concepts behind all formulae, definitions and equations before they start applying these equations to solve problems. This also ensures that my students will be able to solve similar questions during exams. Moreover, practising is extremely important because it helps students familiarize themselves with the types of questions being asked so that they can solve problems faster during exams.

Once my students understand the concepts, they would find that they can solve questions. This boosts their morale and makes them more confident. Hopefully under my influence, my students will find interest

Commitment Level

I can start immediately. I am available on Saturdays and Sundays.

Assignments (19 Taken)