Singapore Tuition Agency

36756. Ong Siew Kwan (Kimo)

Previous Tutor «  Random  » Next Tutor
 

Teaching level and subjects

Primary/ PSLE
English, Science
Secondary/ O level
English
University
Psychology
Language
English

Ratings Breakdown (Find out how ratings are given)

3
+
3
+
=
7
147
(Top 13%)
Gender Female
Age 26 to 30
Date Joined Aug 2018
Occupation Part-time Tutor
Teaching at
Sengkang
Buangkok
Bt Panjang
Choa Chu Kang
Yew Tee
Neo Tiew
Kranji
Woodlands
Marsiling
Admiralty
Sembawang
Yishun
Khatib
 
 
2016 Bachelor (Murdoch University)
Bachelor of Arts in Psychology
2016 Bachelor (Murdoch University)
2016 Transcript (Murdoch University)
2013 Diploma (Kaplan Institute)
Diploma in Counselling
2007 GCE O (Woodgrove Secondary School)

Other Qualifications

O Level - English(B4), Science (B4), Chinese (A2), Art (C5), Mathematics (C6), Humanities Social Studies, Literature (B3)

Diploma in Counselling

Bachelor of Arts in Psychology

Currently studying in LASALLE College of the Arts - Master of Arts in Art Therapy

Worked with People with Dementia for two and and half years in a Nursing Home built for People with Dementia.

Experience/Remarks

I have had experience in teaching primary and secondary school students, particularly in English and Science. Students who have been failing their subjects had improved (e.g. from D7 to C5), and subsequently getting a B4 for his 'O' Levels examination. The continued improvement is visible within a short 5 months of tuition.

For Primary school students, I am confident in teaching English and Science (for upper primary) and improving their foundations before moving up to Secondary school levels.

I do not believe in having the same teaching methods for every student on the contrary, I am focused on my student's learning needs, as well as their strength in the subjects that they are needing help with, and from there to improve on any struggles they might have in understanding the concepts.

From my 3 years of teaching experience as a tutor, I have learned that students tend to pay more attention and learn more effectively when the sessions are fun and light-hearted, yet engaging and subject-relevant. Therefore, I always try to incorporate some of my own learning experiences and real life scenarios to catch the interest of my students, thereby ensuring that learning does take place during the short span of 1 to 2 hours.

Commitment Level

I can start as soon as possible and will be able to do so for long term, about 3 to 4 years. I am also able to have tuition during weekends, in the early afternoon or evenings.

Assignments (1 Taken)

Home Tuition

# Date Area District Level Subjects Sessions Per Month
1 28 Nov 18 NE Ang Mo Kio P6 English, Science 4 x 2hrs