Singapore Tuition Agency

14708. Simon Tan

Previous Tutor «  Random  » Next Tutor
 

Teaching level and subjects

Music
Guitar
Coaching
Life

Ratings Breakdown (Find out how ratings are given)

3
+
3
+
=
6
325
(Top 17%)
Gender Male
Age 31 to 40
Date Joined Jan 2009
Occupation Part-time Tutor
Teaching at
Jurong
Joo Koon
Jurong West
Lakeside
Boon Lay
Bt Panjang
Choa Chu Kang
Yew Tee
 
 
2001 Diploma (Singapore Polytechnic)
Diploma in Biotechnology
2000 Music (Yamaha Music School)
Certificate of Attendance for completion of Yamaha Electric Guitar Course (Step 3)
1997 GCE O (St Patrick's Secondary School)
English Language (B3), History (A2), Geography (B3), Mathematics (A2), Science (Phy/Chem) (A1), Principles of Accounts (B3), Chinese Lanuage (C6), Chinese Lanuage (Oral/Aural) (Pass)

Experience/Remarks

Currently heavily involved in the music team in a church, playing electric guitar, acoustic and bass guitar from 2006 til present.

I have done short term acoustic guitar classes with people before and they have improved, receiving something out of the session. I have also conducted and taught a 3-day (mornings) acoustic guitar course for youth in Timor Leste and my translator herself was able to learn from the sessions. She also commented I should do more classes. The course grew from the first day at about 6 students to the last day with 13 students.

One of the things I don't believe in is rushing forward and just giving an information overload without first seeing that the student fully understands the portion formerly taught. I believe that the student needs to set the pace and the teacher has to be patient and guide where he or she can, and not just talk or show without actively accessing the needs. My goal is to see that at the end of every session, the student has learnt or realized something new and that he or she is encouraged to continue pursuing and not giving up.

Commitment Level

Weekday evenings, after 730pm, last session to end by 930pm Saturday flexible Sundays Afternoons only

Assignments (1 Taken)

Home Tuition

# Date Area District Level Subjects Sessions Per Month
1 30 Jan 09 E Tampines, Simei M0 Guitar 4 x 0.75hrs